Kathleen Peirce & Jean Valentine

Writers at Barnard
Tuesday, March 1, 2011
7 PM
Sulzberger Parlor, 3rd Floor Barnard Hall

Jean ValentineJean Valentine won the Yale Younger Poets Award for her first book, Dream Barker, in 1965, and Door in the Mountain: New and Collected Poems 1965–2003 won the 2004 National Book Award for Poetry. Her eleventh book, Break the Glass, was published in 2010. "This is a poetry of the highest order, because it lets us into spaces and meanings we couldn't approach in any other way" (Adrienne Rich). Kathleen Peirce is the author of four books of poems, including Mercy, The Oval Hour, and The Ardors, and the recipient fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Whiting Foundation, and the Guggenheim Foundation. "There is an overtone of Christina Rossetti," Richard Howard has written, "partly discernable in the hindered devotions" and in the "unresisted sensuality" of the poems.

Mar. 1, 2011 - 7:00 PM