Women Poets at Barnard Poetry Prize


The Barnard Women Poets Prize is given for an exceptional second collection of poems.  The competition is open to a woman poet who has previously published one book of poetry (in an edition of 500 or more) and who is a citizen or resident, regardless of documentation status, of the United States.

  • Prize — $1,500 and publication by W.W. Norton & Co.
  • Entry fee — $20, payable in check to Women Poets at Barnard
  • SubmissionsNot open at this time.
  • Judge — TBA

The manuscript to be considered (three copies), cover letter (naming the title and publisher of the applicant's first collection), and entry fee ($20, payable in check to Women Poets at Barnard) should be sent to:

Women Poets at Barnard
English Department
Barnard College
3009 Broadway
New York, NY 10027

The winner is usually notified in the spring.

Although a writer may submit a manuscript that has been entered in other contests, any manuscript under option to another publisher is not eligible. (Please note that any entries that are encumbered will be disqualified.) Page-limit is not specified. Because the prize is given to a poet who has already published a first book, the manuscripts are not read anonymously. Every qualified manuscript will be read with care by the panel of judges and the chief judge, who changes every year. 

Email questions to Saskia Hamilton at

The winner of the 2018 Barnard Women Poets Prize was Brittany Perham. Rosanna Warren was judge.  For more details, read the entire press release.

For more about the history of the Prize or to order past publications, click here.

Return to Top.

page last updated 9/13/18